S.L.A.M.
Students Living a Message

SLAM STUDENT NEWSLETTER

SLAM NEWSLETTER
Contents
1. Something for Your Heart
2. Surf Report
3. Forgettable Fact
4. Potent Quotables
5. Parting Shot
=================================
1. SOMETHING FOR YOUR HEART

Topic: Jesus doesn’t just love you—He actually likes you!

Main Scripture:
“The LORD your God is in your midst, a Mighty One who will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness; He will quiet you by His love; He will exult over you with loud singing.” (Zephaniah 3:17, ESV)

Other Scriptures:
John 15:13-16; Romans 8:31-39

What Jesus Might Say to You:
Let me ask you this: What do you think my reaction is when I hear your name? What is the expression on my face? Is it a look of disappointment? Am I rolling my eyes? Am I shaking my head? Am I thinking, “What a pain that one is!”?

How do I really feel about you? You may be thinking, “Obviously He loves me; it’s His job to love me, but I would bet He’s not very thrilled with me much of the time.” You may be thinking this because you often feel that way about others. You probably love quite a few people in your own life because you feel like you should. But you don’t necessarily like them all the time.

As hard as it may be to believe…I actually like you. It’s true. When I hear your name, I get excited…so excited that My heart leaps, and I sing songs about you. Crazy, right? Well, it’s true.

When I look at you, I feel blessed. Not only that, but there’s nothing you could ever do to make Me love you or like you any less. Nothing. No matter where you’ve been, no matter what you’ve done, no matter what you’re going to do…My opinion of you will not change.

So the next time you imagine My reaction upon hearing your name…know that there’s a giant smile on My face, a song on My lips, and joy in My heart. I like you…a lot!

Love,
Jesus

Jesus thinks you’re amazing; you can’t do anything to change that!

Taken from “Conversations with Jesus” by Youth For Christ, c2006.

2. SURF REPORT

~ Youth Stories, Youth for Christ/USA http://www.yfc.net/Brix?pageID=21110

~ Internet Evangelism Day http://ied.gospelcom.net

3. FORGETTABLE FACT

The king of hearts is the only king without a moustache on a standard playing card!

4. POTENT QUOTABLES

“Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care. And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.”
– Matthew 10: 29-31

“God cares about the big things and the little things in our lives. No matter what.”
– John Hull

5. PARTING SHOT

A day without sunshine is like… well, night.

c 2007 :: Youth Specialties

No Responses to “SLAM STUDENT NEWSLETTER”

Leave a Reply

