S.L.A.M.
Students Living a Message

SLAM STUDENT NEWSLETTER

Contents
1. Something for Your Heart
2. Surf Report
3. Forgettable Fact
4. Potent Quotables
5. Parting Shot
=================================
1. SOMETHING FOR YOUR HEART
UNLIKELY HEROES
TOPIC: God uses the weak and lowly
MAIN SCRIPTURES: “In the same way, was not even Rahab the prostitute considered righteous for what she did when she gave lodging to the spies and sent them off in a different direction?” ()
“The people I treasure most are the humble–they depend only on me and tremble when I speak.” (, CEV)
OTHER SCRIPTURES: ; ; ;
WHAT JESUS MIGHT SAY TO YOU:
Today I want to talk about your feelings of inadequacy. It’s a lie that you’re not good enough to follow me or represent me to the world. I know the world prizes the strong and successful. My way is different. I look for those with humble hearts, aware of their weaknesses. Those who give me room to work in them and through them. These are the people I want to use. Have you read the story of my servant Rahab in ? Go ahead. Read it.
I chose to use Rahab in a mighty way. Why? Was it because she was popular and well-respected? No, quite the opposite. In fact, Rahab was a prostitute. But I chose her. And not only did she change the world, but she also had a profound experience of my grace and mercy in the process.
Fast-forward a few years. Rahab had a son named Boaz. Boaz is considered one of the greatest examples of grace and mercy in history. (Check out the book of Ruth.) How did Boaz learn to be so godly and merciful? It was from his mother, the former prostitute.
Remember David–the humble shepherd boy who became a great king, a king after my own heart? He was also a descendant of Rahab and Boaz. Furthermore, guess who else descended from Rahab? I did.
I would rather change the world through a humble prostitute or shepherd boy than through a prideful, religious person who thinks he has it all together. I can’t use those who think they have no need for me.
Are you imperfect? Messed up? Do you need me? If the answer is yes, you’re in good shape. I can use you. I want to use you to change the world…and I will.
Going against the flow, Jesus
SUMMARY CHALLENGE: No matter who you are or where you’ve been, God wants to use you.
2. SURF REPORT
~ Textaments
Scripture delivered to your cell phone
~ World AIDS Day
December 1–what will you do?
3. FORGETTABLE FACT
It snowed in the Sahara desert on February 18, 1979.
4. POTENT QUOTABLES
“Character is what you are in the dark.”
– D.L. Moody
“He that lives in hope, dances without music.”
– George Herbert
5. PARTING SHOT
I used to think I was indecisive, but now I’m not too sure.

No Responses to “SLAM STUDENT NEWSLETTER”

Leave a Reply

